The NIST Cybersecurity Framework

Assess your current risk exposure, your cybersecurity strengths, and weaknesses, and set policy going forward

Our IT security assessment is based on the nationally recognized NIST Cybersecurity Framework. By analyzing 5 categories of proactive and reactive metrics, the assessment provides companies with valuable insights into their current risk exposure via a Security Maturity Level (SML) score.

The SML score tells you where you fall within the Security Maturity Scale; the higher your SML score, the more secure your organization’s data and systems. A higher organizational SML directly correlates to a net reduction in risk exposure and the liabilities associated with data breaches.

The five core functions of the NIST framework

  • Identify – Develop organizational understanding of the risks to systems and data
  • Protect – Develop and implement the appropriate safeguards
  • Detect – Develop and implement procedures for identifying cybersecurity events
  • Respond – Develop and implement the appropriate response procedures
  • Recover – Develop and implement procedures to restore lost capabilities

NIST Cybersecurity Framework



  • Asset Management
  • Business Environment
  • Governance
  • Risk Assessment
  • Risk Management Strategy


  • Access Control
  • Awareness Training
  • Data Security
  • Info Protection
  • Processes & Procedures
  • Maintenance
  • Protective Technology



  • Anomalies and Events
  • Continuous Security Monitoring
  • Detection Processes



  • Response Planning
  • Communications
  • Analysis
  • Mitigation
  • Improvements


  • Recovery Planning
  • Improvements
  • Communication